The Music of Langston Hughes

Black Nativity – Music from the Motion Picture Soundtrack


SKU: 00124174 Categories: ,

Product Description

Black Nativity by Langston Hughes

Music from the Motion Picture Soundtrack

Piano/Vocal/Guitar Songbook Softcover

In a contemporary adaptation of Langston Hughes’ celebrated play, the holiday musical drama Black Nativity follows Langston (Jacob Latimore), a street-wise teen from Baltimore raised by a single mother, as he journeys to New York City to spend the Christmas holiday with his estranged relatives Reverend Cornell and Aretha Cobbs (Forest Whitaker and Angela Bassett). Unwilling to live by the imposing Reverend Cobbs’ rules, a frustrated Langston is determined to return home to his mother, Naima (Jennifer Hudson). Langston embarks on a surprising and inspirational journey and along with new friends, and a little divine intervention, he discovers the true meaning of faith, healing, and family. The soundtrack features 12 songs, including: As • Be Grateful • Can’t Stop Praising His Name • Fix Me Jesus • Hush Child • Motherless Child • Test of Faith • and more.

Black Nativity, Song List

  • As
  • Be Grateful
  • Can’t Stop Praising His Name
  • Coldest Town (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • Fix Me Jesus (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • He Loves Me Still (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • Hush Child (Get You Through The Silent Night) (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • Jesus Is On The Mainline (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • Motherless Child (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • Rise Up Shepherd And Follow (from BLACK NATIVITY)
  • Sweet Little Jesus Boy
  • Test Of Faith (from BLACK NATIVITY)


  • Piano/Vocal/Guitar

Product Details

  • $17.99 (US)
  • #HL 00124174
  • 9781480367098
  • 884088964153
  • 9.0″
  • 12.0″
  • 96 Pages

Additional information

Catalog #




SKU: 00124174 Categories: ,


Be the first to review “Black Nativity – Music from the Motion Picture Soundtrack”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Music of Langston Hughes

Inspired by his messages of justice, freedom, and the hope that a brighter future lies ahead, notable composers and arrangers have beautifully coupled Langston Hughes' passionate words with equally captivating music.

About This Website

This Music of Langston Hughes website has been developed by the Fred Bock Publishing Group.

How To Reach Us

Fred Bock Publishing Group
PO Box 10069
Glendale, CA. 91209
(818) 551-0800
(818) 551-0801 Fax