The Music of Langston Hughes

Let America Be America Again –


SKU: 00115977 Categories: , ,

Product Description

Let America Be America Again

Orchestra and Narrator, Full Score

  •  LKM Music
  •  Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Let America Be America Again is a powerful orchestral setting with narration of the famous poem by African-American poet/playwright, Langston Hughes.

“Let America Be America Again” is a poem by Langston Hughes that reflects on the American Dream and the disparities between the idealized vision of America and the reality faced by marginalized and oppressed groups. The poem speaks to the disillusionment and struggles of those who have been historically marginalized, including African Americans, Native Americans, immigrants, and the working class. It calls for a reclamation of the true promise of America, where freedom, equality, and justice are attainable for all, not just a privileged few. Throughout the poem, Hughes emphasizes the need for a more inclusive and just America, where the dream of liberty and opportunity is accessible to everyone.

A Little about Composer Gwyneth Walker,

Gwyneth Walker, an American composer born in 1947, has earned widespread acclaim for her music, which is cherished by both performers and audiences across the country. Her compositions are celebrated for their vibrant energy, exquisite beauty, deep reverence, compelling drama, and delightful humor.

Dr. Gwyneth Walker is a distinguished alumna of Brown University and the Hartt School of Music, holding degrees in Music Composition, including a B.A., M.M., and D.M.A. She once served as a faculty member at the Oberlin College Conservatory but chose to leave academia in 1982 to fully devote herself to a career as a composer. For nearly three decades, she resided on a dairy farm in Braintree, Vermont, before returning to her childhood hometown of New Canaan, Connecticut.

Having been a composer since the age of two, Gwyneth Walker has always valued diversity in her musical creations. She has composed over 400 works, commissioned by a wide range of performers and musicians, encompassing orchestral pieces, chamber music, solo instrument compositions, choral works, and solo vocal pieces. Throughout her career, she has journeyed across North America to attend performances of her compositions and engage with fellow musicians.

Let America Be America Again Product Details

  •  #HL 00115977
  •  9781480321502
  •  884088880439
  •  X077574
  •  8.75″
  •  11.0″
  •  40 Pages


Additional information

Catalog #





SKU: 00115977 Categories: , ,


Be the first to review “Let America Be America Again –”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Music of Langston Hughes

Inspired by his messages of justice, freedom, and the hope that a brighter future lies ahead, notable composers and arrangers have beautifully coupled Langston Hughes' passionate words with equally captivating music.

About This Website

This Music of Langston Hughes website has been developed by the Fred Bock Publishing Group.

How To Reach Us

Fred Bock Publishing Group
PO Box 10069
Glendale, CA. 91209
(818) 551-0800
(818) 551-0801 Fax